h1

kartoffelsalat (no-mayo potato salad from the black forest)

November 13, 2010

one more tried-and-true family recipe from the schwarzwald before i post a bunch of new things i want to try.

then i need to try and sleep.

but how can i sleep when the sauerbraten will be ready tomorrow! it’s worse than waiting for someone to stop squirming.

anyway, steam or boil some potatoes. chop ’em into chunks. throw ’em in a bowl.

fry some bacon. don’t toss the fat. crunch the bacon and return the crumbles to the greasy pan with some beef stock, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, a pinch of nutmeg, a little sugar, and maybe some onions. boil it a little and pour it over the potatoes.

southern germans make the best potato salad in the world.

(recipe courtesy of my grandmother)

One comment

  1. I was just thinking about Zweibelkuchen. Mom made a sourcream pastry crust that I’ve never been able to duplicate. I mentioned mom’s pie to Maggie this evening since we just recently had a “Nolio” at Bertucci’s which reminded me of her pie. I said that I plan to carmelize onions in brown butter with a touch of sugar and bacon fat this week. I’ll just stick it into a basic pie crust mixed with some sour cream, caraway and beaten egg – like an onion quiche. I’ll let you know how it turns out.



Leave a Reply

